national museum in photos: going back in time

The National Museum of the Philippines was my attempt to go back in time.

On September 21, 1972, President Ferdinand Marcos declared Martial Law throughout the whole Philippines. It was a floodgate to years of abuse, torture, killings, and disappearances. On November 18, 2016, that very architect of the Philippines’ dark days was buried in the Libingan ng mga Bayani (Heroes’Cemetery). There was no announcement. No news. We only learned of it an hour before they laid his body beneath the ground. On the same day, I joined my very first street protest. I tried to find solace in the thrum of the drums, shouts of the youth, and clenched fists against the sky. On that day, I learned that I did love my country, and hours later, when I was finally out of my fresh-from-a-rally dress, kitten heels, and blazer (we were all taken unawares), I decided that there was a need to revisit my country’s past.

The National Museum of the Philippines exhibits works of art, specimens, and cultural and historical artifacts that represents the country’s rich culture, patrimony, and history. It has recently become free of charge, and has thus become more accessible to more people. It has numerous galeries, featuring everything from historical to contemporary paintings, sculptures, and photographs, and various other kinds of art. It’s a haven for artists, an inspiration  to all Filipinos, and an eye-opener to visitors.

Please note: These are only very few of the collections that one can find in the National Museum. Nothing will ever beat the experience of actually visiting the gallery.

_dsc0313

_dsc0319

_dsc0307

_dsc0330

_dsc0338

NOTE: The National Museum is also right beside the Rizal Park–a park serving as tribute for the country’s true heroes, including the National Hero Jose Rizal (There’s not much to see there, to be honest. I just needed to visit to remind me that the true heroes would have wanted us to not give up on everything that’s been happening in the world)
Leave a Reply

